The I Am Statements of Jesus

From the book, The Gospel According to John:  A Visual Introduction

The first image symbolically summarizes nine of Jesus’ I Am statements.

The second image explains the symbols.

Traditionally, there are seven statements from Jesus that John gives us in this format.

“I am the bread of life” (John 6:35, 48).

“I am the light of the world” (John 8:12).

“I am the door of the sheep”(John 10:7, 9).

“I am the good shepherd” (John 10:11, 14).

“I am the resurrection, and the life” (John 11:25).

“I am the way, and the truth, and the life” (John 14:6).

“I am the true vine” (John 15:1, 5).

Two more I am statements are made by the risen Christ in Revelation.

“I am the Alpha and Omega” (Revelation 1:8, 21:6, 22:13).

“I am the root and the descendant of David, the bright morning star“  (Revelation 22:16).

With these statements, Jesus is telling us more about his identity. To borrow from Calvin, Jesus reveals his soul to us with these statements.